(Photo - @kelownafalcons/Twitter)

(Photo - @kelownafalcons/Twitter)

Kelowna Falcons, Mayor Basran vying for new B.C. Cup

The WCL season starts on Friday, June 3

There’s a new B.C. Cup up for grabs this baseball season.

The majors from the four cities in the West Coast League have created a B.C. Cup.

For a little added incentive, the trophy will go to the mayor’s office who’s team has the best record against the other provincial teams.

While the Kelowna Falcons and Victoria Harbourcats are veterans of the league, the Kamloops NorthPaws and Nanaimo NightOwls are taking part in their inaugural seasons. All teams will play a home-and-home series with each team, totalling 18 games.

Both the new Kamloops and Nanaimo had their inaugural seasons postponed in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Only the teams in the United States participated in the 2021 season.

The four mayors are Kelowna’s Colin Basran, Victoria’s Lisa Helps, Kamloops’ Ken Christian, and Nanaimo’s Leonard Krog.

It’s just eight days until the regular season opens for the Falcons. They welcome the Harbourcats to town for the first series of the year from Friday, June 3 to Sunday, June 5.

First pitch on Friday is at 6:35 p.m at Elks Stadium. To celebrate the first game of the season, admission is free.

READ MORE: Champs: It’s ring season for Okanagan College Coyotes baseball

READ MORE: South Okanagan track and field athletes qualify for provincials


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

BaseballKamloopsKelownaNanaimoSummerVictoriaWest Coast League

Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up
Pop-up banner image