Skip to content

Opposition critic portfolios for Okanagan and Shuswap MLAs

Appointments come just days after Kevin Falcon won the B.C. Liberal Party leadership
BC Legislature (Govt. of BC)

Three Okanagan-Shuswap Liberal MLAs have been given opposition critic roles following the election of Kevin Falcon as BC Liberal Party leader on the weekend (Feb. 5).

Renee Merrifield (Kelowna-Mission) is critic for Environment and Climate Change. Greg Kyllo (Shuswap) is critic for Labour and Skills Training, and Ben Stewart (Westside-Kelowna) has been named critic for Transportation and Infrastructure.

Shirley Bond will be staying as Leader of the Official Opposition for the short term.

“After speaking with Kevin Falcon, I am grateful to have been asked to remain in the role of leader of the official opposition in the BC Legislature until Mr. Falcon has an opportunity to contest a seat that will lead to him officially taking his place as the leader of the official opposition in the Legislature,” said Bond.

Following a vote within caucus, MLA Coralee Oakes (Cariboo North) was elected to the position of Caucus Chair. MLA Jackie Tegart is being put forward as the nominee for Assistant Deputy Speaker, a position that was held by Norm Letnick (Kelowna-Lake Country).

Read More: Disappointing finish in Liberal leadership race for Kelowna-Mission MLA

Read More: Falcon heads to Victoria pledging BC Liberal rebuild, looks for seat in legislature


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and subscribe to our daily and subscribe to our daily newsletter.

Gary Barnes

About the Author: Gary Barnes

Recently joined Kelowna Capital News and WestK News as a multimedia journalist in January 2022. With almost 30 years of experience in news reporting and radio broadcasting...
Read more