Skip to content

Check ingredients to have a gluten-free Thanksgiving

Turkey is (usually) gluten free, but what about the stuffing, gravy, and pumpkin pie?

Whether you’ve recently started eating gluten free or you have gluten-free guests joining you for Thanksgiving dinner, you may be worried about what to serve that captures the traditions of the day while meeting everyone’s dietary needs.

Turkey is (usually) gluten free, but what about the stuffing, gravy, and pumpkin pie?

According to Vancouver dietitian Gloria Tsang, founder of nutrition network and author of Go UnDiet: 50 Small Actions for Lasting Weight Loss, a few simple substitutions and ingredient checks allow you to serve a gluten-free meal.

1. Check the turkey: Turkey itself is safe, but some are injected with flavourings that contain wheat products. If you’re serving ham, it may have wheat starch in the glaze.

2. Watch the sauce: Many ingredients in sauces, like spices, store-bought broth or stock, and flavourings like bouillon cubes may contain wheat ingredients. Check the labels.

3. Switch the stuffing: Brown and wild rice make great alternatives. If you can’t bear to part with an old recipe, seek out GF bread.

4. Flour-free gravy: Use cornstarch instead to thicken gluten-free gravy.

5. Perfect pumpkin pie: Serve a crust-free (and wheat-free) pie by baking the filling in individual ramekins.

If you plan to serve both regular and gluten-free items, make it clear which is which, and use separate serving utensils. More achievable actions to reclaim your health are available on


Pop-up banner image