Lake Country councillors (from left) Lisa Cameron

Three Lake Country councillors say goodbye at final meeting

Outgoing councillors Lisa Cameron, Jamie McEwan, Barbara Leamont bid adieu to council colleagues, staff, residents

Three Lake Country councillors said their goodbyes at their final council meeting at municipal hall in Winfield as one long-time councillor and two first-termers ended their service on Lake Country council.

Barbara Leamont, Jamie McEwan and Lisa Cameron took part in their final council meeting last week, a short meeting that came just days after residents in Lake Country elected a new council.

After 12 years on council, Leamont decided against running to represent the ward of Carr’s Landing and will be replaced on council by Matt Vader, who was acclaimed as the only resident to step forward.

“I’m very grateful for having the opportunity over the last 12 years to represent the residents of Carr’s Landing on council and on many committees,” said Leamont. “I want to say a big thank-you to a wonderful staff and council. It’s been a great experience and a pleasure and all the best to the new council.”

McEwan, the youngest member of council, also decided not to run again for councillor-at-large, stepping aside to focus on his career and other opportunities. His seat will be taken by Bill Scarrow who was elected along with Penny Gambell, to the two at-large seats at council.

“I’d like to thank everyone around this table, the staff and the people who have been part of my experience over the three years,” said McEwan. “It’s been outstanding. I’ve learned so much from each and every one of you (councillors). We are fortunate in Lake Country to have the leaders we have. We’ve had our challenges and our disagreements but I think we’ve moved forward together and we are a stronger community for it.”

Cameron, a first-term councillor from Okanagan Centre who was unseated in the election and will be replaced by Blair Ireland, said she had a great experience on council.

“I’ve worked with some great people, amazing staff, the mayor and council and I’ve met many friends and neighbours and for that I am grateful,” she said.

The rest of council also took time to thank supporters as Mayor James Baker along with Councillors Rob Geier (Winfield), Owen Dickie (Oyama) and Gambell (at-large) were re-elected.

Geier said he was sad to see the three outgoing councillors leave.

“We didn’t always agree on everything but we’re not supposed to,” said Geier. “That’s usually a good sign where there is healthy debate.”

The new council will be sworn in at its first regular meeting Dec. 2.

Just Posted

Car crash causes traffic delays along Highway 97

An accident has been reported on Highway 97 and Leathead Road

BC SPCA investigates Okanagan woman with prior animal abuse convictions

BC SPCA is investigating a property near Vernon

Lake Country staff work to mitigate wildfire risk in Okanagan Centre

Staff have been removing forest fuels and some trees

A mother’s warning: Man follows Peachland teen to her home from Kelowna

The teen’s mother is warning others about the incident

Sell regulated heroin to curb B.C.’s overdose problem: report

B.C. Centre on Substance Use points to organized crime and money-laundering as contributing factors

B.C. legislature moving suspended staff controversy to outside review

Whale watching, Seattle Mariners trips billed as emergency preparedness, Speaker Darryl Plecas says

More people signing up for compulsory vaccines

Maple Ridge mom says public tired of hearing about measles

Thieves steal bottles, mattress from recycle depot

Chase RCMP still investigating theft of tires, generator from commercial garage

UPDATE: Man charged in stabbing of woman, off-duty cop outside B.C. elementary school

Manoj George, 49, is facing two counts of aggravated assault and two counts of assault with a weapon after the incident on Wednesday, Feb. 20.

Regional district seeks $13 million to get rolling on Rail Trail

Federal grant would pay for a paved path from Sicamous to Armstrong

Why do zebras have stripes? Perhaps to dazzle away flies

Researchers from University of Bristol look into why zebras have stripes

Cold War Cabaret offers song, slam poetry and sock puppets

Devon More returns to Shuswap with Berlin Waltz, March 16

Shuswap athletes help Team BC to podium at Canada Winter Games

Speed-skater wins bronze, ringette player contributes to playoff victory

Most Read