Every summer the picturesque Gibson House in Kopje Regional Park is opened for public tours on Saturdays and Sundays from noon until 4:00 p.m. This past weekend a Strawberry Tea was held adding to the incentive to make the drive out to Carr’s Landing and have a look around.
The house is decorated in the style of the early twentieth century to reflect the era in which the home was built. Many of the furnishings are original pieces that were used in the home, while others have been loaned by the Lake Country Museum or have been donated to the home.
Englishman George Gibson built the house as an orchard homestead in 1906. It was restored to its current state by Gibson’s daughter Joan Shaw and grandchildren Rosemary Carter and Mick Wentworth.